Some people think that in this modern world people are getting dependent on each other, while others think that this world makes them more independent of each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the world we live in today, we have progressed a lot. Some people believe that such progress has led to dependence on one another, whereas others think we have become self-dependent. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I favour the latter view. Firstly, the modern world has brought many complexities in the way we live, and it can be seen in how we have all become materialistic. For instance, we all want to live with modern facilities like; air-conditioners, cars, televisions, gadgets, etc. it has led us to become dependent on others for our lives' smooth functioning. Also, in modern times, people favour specialization, due to which a person knows his/her field only. As a result, dependence on people with specialized knowledge has increased. However, the progress has also led us to become independent. We have become so busy in our lives possessing all the luxuries of life that we have lost connection with the people around us. On top of it, we have also lost the courtesy and human values that has made us selfish. As we do not have free time and want to save money, we have become independent. It can be observed with the increase in DIY products that helps people to solve their petty issues without taking any favours from others, making them self-reliant. In conclusion, in the materialistic world we live in, one can find one another's dependence due to our way of life. However, I opine that with time, to save time, money and avoid any favours, people are getting more independent.