Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that having unlimited exchanging scientific or business data through worldwide networks is a very profitable all category of people while the others consider such open placement of information unjustifiable due to the preciousness of it. I believe that having free access to information can contribute to the development of science and technology and collaboration amongst humans. On the one hand, very often scientific or business data has a very high value and costs a lot of money to be shared freely without any restriction. Scientists and big corporations spend a lot of time and funds for achieving successful results of their activities and it could be wasteful and unreasonable to just throw information into public space and make it reached by everyone. The company, whose researchers invented a new technology, can lose a lot of money and advantages of owning unique commercial secrets due to revealing such information since its competitors and dishonest users can misuse its intellectual rights. However, opening up data can yield benefits for society since it catalyzes new collaboration amongst scientists and the development of confidence in findings. This is because researchers need to exchange and compare with each other new ideas, innovations and other outcomes of their activities in order to obtain additional contributions from other colleges or get feedback by means of approvals or critics which are the main tools for achieving success in their hard-working. For instance, by disseminating information of a new project it is possible to attract support from other scientists around the world that would help to improve the quality of exploration through providing additional inputs. In conclusion, although some information should not be distributed freely due to risks of dishonest use and the loss of competitive edge, I advocate freely publishing data and materials since it enables scientific and business communities to gain many benefits for their jobs and eventially improve our life.