Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. In many developed countries' companies, females fill more than half of the workforce whereas leader-level job spots are usually occupied by male workers. It is suggested that high-level job positions should be allocated with an equal gender rate by companies. I totally disagree with this statement because companies should hire individuals based on their abilities, and it is harmful for companies to employ a person because of gender. On one hand, picking up an individual whose abilities match a vacancy the best benefits the company the most. This is because those potential staffs will work more efficiently as they may have strong educational backgrounds or rich experiences related to the required spots. With a high efficiency, they might generate more profits. For example, consider Tesla looking for a software manager to lead a new program, only a candidate with programming and tech skills can handle this position, thus making money. Therefore, I think abilities should be the top consideration for companies rather than a gender equality. On the other hand, allocating job positions by gender has a negative impact on a company as it can cause a sense of injustice. If a company hires a female with a high salary for a management team because of her gender, it is totally unfair to others in the company, hence leading to less loyalty and low job satisfaction. Therefore, I believe that allocating jobs by gender is harmful to companies ' development. In conclusion, I absolutely disagree with the statement because job hiring should consider personal ability first, and allocating jobs by gender has an obvious negative impact on a company.