Nowadays more and more people have access to the Internet, but the constant availability of any information worsens people’s memory and critical thinking skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinion is divided when it comes to the negative influences that endemic access to the internet has inflicted on people's memory and critical thinking. From my standpoint, I partly disagree with this statement and this essay will give further information. Admittedly, it is essential to acknowledge that the internet does present some challenges to memory retention. The ease by which information can be retrieved may render human behaviours lazier when researching and absorbing knowledge. In other words, some of them currently depend on this platform without finding measures to resolve the problems, even with simple calculations and basic data. This trend acts as a deterrent for many individuals to delve deeper into the essence of knowledge and foster cognitive, and intellectual skills. Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, I am of the opinion that those challenges may be effectively ironed out if people tailor their behaviors judiciously to utilize the sources of the Internet. Firstly, it is evident that the internet is a vast expanse of data and viewpoints and most people nowadays usually conduct many tasks through this platform. Therefore, users are frequently compelled to evaluate the creditability of data, understand multiple perspectives and synthesize them to form a coherent view. This process entails the discernment and analysis of people thereby fostering and supporting them to acquire knowledge deeper and nurture critical thinking skills. Secondly, users can also leverage the diversity and inclusivity of the information on the Internet that has been provided to bolster memory and develop personal competencies. Educational platforms, online courses and problem-solving games can aid in strengthening these cognitive functions. For instance, some websites like Quizlet have implemented flashcard techniques for people to revise and absorb knowledge on the internet, it also incorporates some puzzle games for them to practice and develop their critical thinking. In conclusion, while the concerns regarding the internet impair people's memory and critical thinking are true to some extent. It is likely to become incumbent upon the users to utilize the internet to learn and consolidate information more effectively and enhance cognitive skills.