In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is you opinion about this?

The population around the world has been growing on an exponential scale. Whilst the home construction tries to overcome this demand, there are people that believe that the usage of countryside lands would be the solution. In my opinion, although this decision might work, I also believe that it can bring detrimental outcomes. Firstly, this demand tends to appear at specific locations, therefore, not any field would be strategic to building homes. For instance, as people usually concentrate on big cities and economic centres, where there are more job offers, the land might be too distant for commute transportation. Therefore, albeit the countryside would be used to expand the residential area, it could not be effective and workers would prefer to stay close to offices. Secondly, the construction in the landscape may be detrimental for the environment, because it will overwhelm the space during the process and after because of the presence of new landers. To exemplify, the natural fauna and flora are often unbalanced by human interference, especially when it comes to pollution, land exploitation and increased hunting. Nevertheless, it can be possible to find a sustainable outcome. While the main issue about the need for new homes is the intense concentration of people surrounding a specific area, the governments can establish a smart distribution of workforce demand investing in some regions dedicated to friendly environmental housing and limiting natural reserves so as to protect local animals, forests and crops from small producers. To sum up, the countryside needs protection as much as new residential areas need to be constructed. However, it depends on a great responsibility to avoid damages to the environment, otherwise, new problems will be created by reckless solutions.