Most people do not care about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Several people recently claim that the majority of popularity in the world do not concern themselves with environmental problems. Although there are some people not paying enough attention to these kinds of issues, I suppose that this thesis statement is not true to some extent and I am going to address and elaborate upon my assertion. Admittedly, various people nowadays do not care about the problems relating to the environment. Perhaps, these people are not well – educated about the environmental aspect and in fact, this situation still pressingly exists in some either less – developed or developing countries. However, even when they are taught comprehensively, some people still assume that their actions, which are detrimental to the surrounding natural world, are not enough considerable to impact the entire environment. Nevertheless, in recent days, the number of people being aware of environmental problems specifically and their substantial consequence is gradually increasing and accounts for a considerable amount of the world’s population. The reason for the surge potentially comes from the government’s action of imposing strict punishments for deteriorating the surrounding environment. Additionally, with the evolution of technology, people can easily gain knowledge through the internet, and in turn, they can personally acknowledge what activities are harmful to nature. For example, the activity such as littering the garbage, which is formerly not cared for, now can be harshly criticized by the community. In conclusion, despite several individuals being not concerned enough with environmental issues, the surge of people acknowledging these problems is widely recorded all around the world. I believe that the number of people concerning environmental issues gradually exceeds the rest and becomes the majority of the community soon.