There are more families having only one child in the modern days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of one-child families has been rising substantially in the recent years. This essay will present both the positive and negative sides of this trend, and while there are remarkable benefits to this transition, I strongly fall in with the fact that this development brings more far-reaching negative influences to not only individual households but also the general society. The main advantages of a single-child family are that parents would have a less financial burden and their offspring can have more centred attention. Maintaining a subsistent state of living for multiple children might be costly as there are more expenses to make, such as school tuition for each child, food and clothes costs, rents of sufficient space for more family members, and so on. Furthermore, it is more difficult for parents to manage a larger-size family with divided attention to a greater number of children, thus they might provide insufficient care to a child’s distinctive problems and that can lead to consequences later on. However, there are more concerning drawbacks of being an only child in a family. According to scientific studies, children are more attached to others of their age, so by bearing no close siblings, parents might take away the possibility of having a close-knit friendship with their child. Not only so, without having to share resources with anyone in the family might result in a selfish teenager with difficulties of befriending others, which might be the case of future mental illness. Another negative consequence of this is that the overall labour force of a community in the future will suffer as there are fewer people coming to this age in later years. In summary, being nurtured in three-member families presents both merits and demerits; however, I strongly believe that the negative points of this are more lasting and therefore, outweigh the positives.