Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that diseases have been threatening the life of people ever since mankind step foot on earth. Various prevention methods were developed to curtail the spread of dangerous diseases. However, these preventive methods failed to stop the diseases from spreading resulting in many casualties. In my opinion, it is of paramount importance to do research on diseases and discover a treatment to utterly eradicate the disease. One reason to invest money in the treatment of the disease is that it will put an end to a fatal disease. In other words, researching the source of the disease and its origin can give valuable information on how to prevent the disease from evolving. For example, when the outbreak of the bird flu occurred, scientist needed to know which types of the bird is the carrier for the virus and how it transferred from the birds to the human. Moreover, once a cure is discovered, the disease becomes less dangerous and people can return back to their normal life. Another reason to consider is that researching for the disease and finding a cure for it can give an insight for scientists on how to tackle similar diseases in the future. Consequently, the deadly diseases can be stopped before they spread between humans. Furthermore, the discovery of new diseases, their cause and prevention can be utilized for studies and research at the medical school to enlighten and broaden the student’s knowledge about the disease. As a result, students can contribute to research pertaining to disease to halt the spread of the disease. To sum up, despite prevention methods can be useful in limiting the spread of the diseases, I believe that treating the disease and researching the source of it can completely eradicate the disease