Some people think that the universities must only accept student with high mark, while others believe that universities must accept students of all ages regardless of their previous grades. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely believed by some people that higher education institutions should allow students with higher grades only to be enrolled while others hold the view that everyone should be allowed to be enrolled in Universities irrespective of their previous grades. Although accepting learners with better grades makes sure that individuals would be able to pass easily, I believe that everyone must be given an equal chance to show their full potential. It might be beneficial for learners with outstanding performance to have enrolment in higher institutions as for them, it is not a daunting task to succeed in university curricula. Take an example, individuals who have got good grades in the medical stream in secondary education would be able to clear MBBS exams effortlessly. This is because they are aware of medical terminology which is shown by their past examination. However, I do not think that this is only the ideal way to select students for higher studies just based on academic background performance, as it does not provide equal opportunity to other students who could do far better in the future. Those on the other side of the argument that Institutions must permit students to admissions without acknowledging their scores from past studies due to the presence of potential alternatives. In other words, a holistic view of applicants must be considered by including portfolios, interviews, and extracurricular activities, as a means to assess potential beyond grades. For instance, students who failed in prior academics could do better or even do their best to achieve success in their studies. Research in India is evident that 40% percent of students who failed in secondary education received awards for ranking top in Universities. Since pupils are more likely to reach their full potential, I agree that Universities must accept them by considering all aspects regardless of past grades. In conclusion, while approving students with higher grades only would be beneficial for them to comprehend the curriculum in the University, I believe it is best to provide opportunities to the students that will not look into one aspect but consider the holistic view by other alternatives.