In some countries, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

After completing high schools, many youngsters take a break for one year for doing work or take trips before entering in universities. This trend can be seen in many countries. The main advantages of such trend may be financial stability and maturity. The drawbacks could be losing interest in studies alongwith becomes undisciplined. The primary advantage of taking a gap before starting tertiary studies is the economic stability. That is to say, the free structure of universities is high in some nations, which is difficult for many students to pay to get an admission. Hence, they choose to work for one year to collect money for their education. For instance, in the US, the higher tertiary education is very costly. Therefore, 40% of the youngsters take a break to become financially stable for their higher studies. Furthermore, by earning money or by travelling makes the students mature. The reason behind this is that students become capable of taking their own decisions which helps them to handle all the situations very calmly. The drawback of a fashion of taking a break from studies is that students start to get loose their focus in their studies. To justify, when pupils start making money, they deviated from the path of studies and they become greedy to earn more money. For example, according to one survey held in the UK, 30% of the adults drop-off the colleges after their completing their schools. Due to this, the qualified people in some streams are decreasing day by day. In addition, youngsters become less disciplined when they work which deteriorate their future in the career perspective. In conclusion, although economic stability and maturity are important factors before starting higher education, the drawbacks of the trend of taking gap before entering in college could be less interest in studies as well as undisciplined behavior in youngsters.