Some people think that adverts control what we purchase, while others think they are useful sources of information of products. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the era of information, advertising exists in every aspect of our daily life. This leads to an argument over whether it manipulates our buying decisions or provides helpful insight about goods. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspective. On the one hand, many people believe that adverts encourage unnecessary expenditure. First of all, a lot of advertisements offer products or services that are not really necessary for our lives. The fact is that most consumers spend their money just because of the image of power, success and glamour associated with the items, not because of the true value they offer. For instance, many high fashion brands offer an expensive price for an item with only a collective purpose. In addition, there are many audiences that can be easily influenced by commercials, such as children or teenagers. As a result, they may pester their parents to buy certain items. On the other hand, it is clear that advertisements also help to provide some knowledge on the products or services. Firstly, commercials support buyers in discovering new promotions or bargains for goods. To illustrate, most e-commerce platforms nowadays always inform their users every time that there is a new bargain which helps them never miss an opportunity to own things at a reasonable price. Secondly, this will save people a lot of time and effort to learn about new goods if they do not have time to shop around. Moreover, customers can easily find out about the environmental impact and the original company that manufactures or imports the products. In conclusion, it can be seen that both sides have their merits. In my opinion, I suppose that even though adverts can provide potential buyers with information, their ultimate aim is still to persuade them to buy things and as a result, manipulate their purchasing behaviour.