Sport is becoming a business. More and more companies are getting involved in sporting events. Do you think that is a positive or negative development?

It has been claimed by some that sport is becoming a profitable business where many companies are interested in being involved for their profits. In my opinion, this is a negative development. This essay will examine my view in more details. It is undeniable that big sporting events are being financially supported by some big companies, turning them into profitable businesses and changing the whole purpose of these games. Even more, athletes are offered a big sum of money by companies if they advertise for their brands. Moreover, if they win, those businesses will pay them another chunk of the money. In other words, this can put them into lots of stress and anxiety resulting in unhealthy competition between team members. If this trend continues, sports events will become more of a competition between business rivals as opposed to being a friendly play between players. Another downside of this development lies in the fact that athletes look at sport as a money trade instead of enjoying the play. Thus, some athletes do lots of illegal moves to gain even more money and the ramification for them would be to be banned from playing in their team forever. For example, during the 2010 world Olympics, a famous athlete from Russia used illegal substances to increase his power and lifted 50 lbs more weight than his counterpart. Once the community of dopping noticed he cheated, he was banned for 3 years from any competitive sports and he lost his reputation across the world. To sum up, it is my belief that turning sports events into business has changed the whole meaning of these events around the world, has put athletes in lots of unnecessary stress and troubles. It would be best if we could separate business from sports events and only enjoy sporting events for the sake of fun only.