Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money,so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some believe that computers should replace libraries as the latter ones are a waste of money and valuable resources. However, others disagree with that notion. I totally disagree that libraries are not useful as paper books are more convenient and effective in terms of education. On the one hand, computers allow preserving more information while freeing a lot of useful space. Moreover, a modern desktop can store approximately more than 1000 e- books and audiobooks. Electronic sources of information are not as vulnerable as paper and resources on these devices can be easily transferred in a couple of minutes. Mobility is another feature of electronic devices. For instance, anyone can hold and read more than 100 electronic books at any moment while using laptops which is impossible in the case of physical books. On the other hand, paper-based books are more convenient in terms of studying. Not only do they engage visual parts of the brain but also engage kinesthetic parts. This results in increasing the amount and quality of consuming information. For example, scientific studies among 2 groups of students proved that students who used textbooks to prepare for exams memorised by 40% more than the other group that used e- books. This fact is especially important for children and teenagers that study at schools and colleges. In conclusion, I am absolutely convinced that libraries should not be replaced by computers because by using paper-based books people can study more efficiently. I would recommend preserving libraries as there are no better alternatives.