Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge impact on both individuals and society. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the dawn of the internet, social media has become pervasive across the world. Moreover, it is argued that its use has had a profound impact on not only people but also the communities in the world. In my opinion, I completely agree with this development as it has removed the communication barrier amongst the citizens as well as helped them improve their education and subject-knowledge. To begin with, the usage of social networking websites has enabled human beings and societies to communicate with people living overseas. In other words, netizens can easily converse with one another for longer hours without any interruption or additional charges; however, network connectivity has to be strong. For example, an individual can use different features of social applications, such as internet-calling and video-conferencing to verbally converse with either relatives or colleagues at an economical cost. Furthermore, if there weren't such websites or apps, it would have become impossible for the people and other groups to connect with long-distance family members or colleagues. Thus, these sites are of paramount importance for everyone throughout the world. In addition to this, it is helping each and every country produce more number of literates with impressive intellects. This is because such web pages not only help connect known persons together but also it is immensely helpful for an individual to find a new tutor, who teaches students from the comfort of their homes. In fact, in developed countries, like the USA, pupils prefer studying online as the professors teach them using 3-D videos and pictures which gives them in-depth knowledge of the subject instead of using the traditional method for teaching, for instance, on the blackboard. As a result, although it helps the students consolidate their implicit knowledge, it gives them practical exposure to the subject as well. In conclusion, even though some argue that social media has an immense effect on an individual, families and societies, I believe it has a positive impact as it is helping its users to be close to each other via web-calling while helping the nation develop more number of inquisitive students.