The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to to solve these problems?

Industrialisation of cities has caused an increase in rural urban migration which has resulted in various problems such as overpopulation in the city and depopulation of villages but there are ways these issues can be tackled. This essay will discuss the negative consequences of rural exodus and possible solutions to these problems. One major problem associated with rapid movement of people into the cities is overpopulation. As more people leave the villages in search of greener pastures, the city becomes densely populated with resultant air, land, noise and water pollution and this is known to cause various health challenges for people living in these areas. Lagos state for example has become the most populous state in Nigeria due to high influx of people into the state, leading to environmental problems. In addition to this, there is an increase in crime rate, as majority of migrants are stranded in the cities with no jobs, therefore, they resort to crimes for survival. The rural area is not left out, as a consequence of people leaving the villages, it becomes depopulated and deserted. The few people left in the villages are mostly elderly persons, some of which are no more productive in the society, as a result cannot contribute positively to the growth of the village. Also, these rural areas may be abandoned by potential investors, as there are no youths in these places to help foster development. However, there are a number of possible solutions to these issues. Firstly, the government should create better lives for rural dwellers by providing basic amenities such as electricity, hospitals, good schools and housing, as it will help curtail the number of people leaving the villages. Secondly, jobs should be created for youths because when everyone is engaged, they will have no time to be involved in crimes. finally individuals can also create jobs for themselves through skills acquisition rather than waiting for government to provide jobs. For instance, recent evidence has shown that unemployment has been reduced by 60% through self employment. In conclusion, although rural urban migration creates a number of problems such as overpopulation and increase in crime rate, solutions are available to tackle these issues.