Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that children benefit more if they read stories rather than playing video games or watching TV programs. Personally, I disagree with this view for several reasons. There are good reasons to say that reading stories is more beneficial to children than playing computer games or watching TV. The key reason is that reading helps children enrich their academic vocabulary. As a result, they may have better performance in the future when they go to school because a wide range of vocabulary is the crucial factor to constitute writing and presenting skill for them. In addition, reading stories, whether these be fictional or non-fictional, allows children to have better imagination since they have to think of images on their own. This can boost their creativity, which enables them to stand out in the future when they enter the workplace. There are more significant reasons to argue that reading stories is not necessarily better than gaming or watching TV. The most important reason is that when children play computer games, they constantly think of strategies to win. This has a positive impact on their decision-making skills. Furthermore, there are many educational programs on TV, so children can learn new things. For example, by watching a documentary called Planet Earth, children learn about how elusive animals live and hunt and such knowledge is usually not covered in their textbooks. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea that reading stories is better for children than playing computer games or watching TV. This is because each activity helps children develop different skills and learn different things.