Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Clothing is a pivotal aspect of one’s expression. It can indicate how a tribe is skilled in confection, choice of colours and materials and, by the latter, even indicate their geography and developed techniques. Nonetheless, although some people say this information is enough to describe a person’s culture and character, I tend to disagree with them. Firstly, globalisation allowed society to wear and dress accordingly or not to their native culture. As the Internet becomes part of their daily life, each individual has access to learn how other nations are characterised and might want to express their preferences into changing their choices. For example, Japanese pop fashion is a phenomenon all around the world and, though it might not be the same context, it is possible to find young Brazilians dressed in kimonos and typical costumes from anime characters in the streets. Secondly, to judge one by its choice of clothes is quite limited to aesthetics. It cannot show more than punctual visual traditions, as a person’s character is also composed by its demeanour and morals, and aspects of culture are made of gastronomy, religion, social organisation and so on. For instance, albeit an African tribe may present specific tissues and colours carried by their vestments, it has little to show about their rituals and history if there is not a proper conversation and research. Finally, using an isolated characteristic to define the individual is a dangerous attitude towards prejudice against some cultures. Moreover, this method can also be used to weaken a specific group and provoke outrageous attacks. For example, since September 11, Western society became increasingly aggressive towards Islam and Muslim communities because terrorist attacks were frequently associated with the population using typical accessories from this religion. However, it had only ignited rage and unfair treatment to a whole community whilst a small group was responsible for those episodes. To sum up, clothes are indeed an important part of groups’ tradition. Nevertheless, it is not possible to read and judge people by their visual choices as it offers limited information to decide over complex behaviours, such as character and their history as a whole, and it can bring detrimental consequences.