In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, more and more people live longer than ever before in a great deal of nations in the world, and as a result, there has been an issue of life expectancy. Although there are pros and cons to this situation, I believe that the drawbacks of this have more impact on our lives than the benefits as I explain. To start with, one of the upsides to this phenomenon is that there will be more opportunities for conveying traditional culture to younger generations, thus positively attributing to the preservation of culture. To illustrate this, actually, in some countries such as Hong Kong, where English is more commonplace and used in everyday life, the national language Cantonese has been spoken regardless of the existence of English. This is because Hong Kong is one of the most populated nations with the elderly who can conserve Cantonese by predominantly using it even for younger people, resulting in maintaining their culture even in this period. However, this benefit can be considered less important when the population of elderly residents grows. Turning to the downsides to this situation, having more older citizens means that there will be a need for younger residents to hold a lot of challenges such as an increase in their taxes and taking care of the elderly. This can contribute to the prevention of the younger from saving their incomes for the future because those kinds of burdens on them are bound to become such a burden. According to the NHK News broadcast in 2020, 90% of the residents living in Japan were struggling with saving their remuneration for future expenses such as housing and leaving their parents’ places. This can not only discourage them from pursuing their dreams but also potentially reduce the childbirth rate as a whole, which might be caused by a thought that they would not want to have a child, worrying about a huge amount of expenditure on child-rearing. To sum up, the increasing number of residents worldwide who are living longer than in the past has been an international problem. Even though this issue has both positive and negative aspects, I think that the downsides are more significant than the upsides as the number of children who will be born in the future could be a serious problem in many countries.