Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world education has played an important role in building up an individual's future and success. The examination is a formal way to assess the mastery of an individual over the subject. Continual assessment on course work and project may seem to be an extra effort but ultimately it will develop a person far better than only subjecting to formal examination based on the syllabus. This advantage shall be explained through experience in the process and communication skills developed. Firstly, the projects based on any topics cannot be derived only by textbooks and notes. The learning process involves searching for information on the internet, reference books and sometimes even physically visit for information.For,instance a project on windmills will require to visit the site or conduct research through another medium. This exposure is not received if grades are given based on formal examination. Thus continual assessment ' Secondly, Most of the students tend to start studying during the examination and during that time the tendency to forget the learning from class lectures is normal and introduction of class test and course works helps to revisit and study the topics taught on the same day,making it an effective way to learn. For,example conducting class test weekly on topics covered will force students to study and eventually this will help in final examinations. Finally, Continual assessment may add up some extra efforts and even build up stress on an individual.Especially, For small,children it may create a hard time to deal with the extra work,which can cause a great deal in mental health. However such additional works if properly managed and given based on age criteria this problem can be eliminated. To conclude, Continual assessment plays a very important role not only in terms of knowledge but also in terms of experience,which will be a tool for a successful life and also a reason to study along with the flow of teachings in the class.