Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people's salaries to pay for necessary public services such as roads and schools. Others feel that high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an opinion that governments worldwide should take a significant part of people's income to pay for public services. At the same time, others believe that high tax rates are a terrible idea. It is argued that high taxes are a boon for the society. This essay will shed some light on the issue and provide the author's opinion. Firstly, high deductions from individuals' income have been conducted over the last century, helping governments organise many amenities for their citizens. In well-developed countries, the most significant part of governmental revenue comes from its citizens, not fees. For instance, forty-four per cent of Germany's earnings is received from its population. Due to such policies, Germany can form stable institutions, like public health and tertiary education, for everyone. On the other hand, high taxes may put severe pressure on the middle class and force them to look for a better place to live. With progressive-rate deduction schemes, it has become much harder to live a normal life over the last twenty years. For example, the population in Australia must pay approximately sixty per cent of their profits of all kinds to pay off their duties in front of the Australian government, which is one of the main reasons why local people are immigrating to South Africa nowadays. To sum up, tax rates are a debatable issue for every political leader these days. From the writer's perspective, modern political systems should strike a happy medium, and applying modern statistical studies results, find the reasonable tax values for each part of the economic cycle to support governmental institutions and help the population thrive.