More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays due to the phenomenon of the globalization the possibilities to travel and study abroad are endless. Although this option may put the students at some disadvantages, the benefits are by far, greatly superior. Reasons to support this opinion will be stated in the next paragraphs. On the one hand, undergraduates who decide to leave their home countries to pursue an international career, might face some difficulties, such as racism. It is widely known that a marginal group of people reject the idea of having a foreigner in their institutions and this situation can cause discomfort and frustration to the student. Moreover, living expenses, transportation, and tuition fees probably might be more expensive in the student's country destination. For instance, if the individual chooses to study in Europe and he is coming from Africa, due to the currency exchange rates this might represent a whole more expensive environment. Nevertheless, the outcome acquired from an international experience is unparalleled, and with a proper budget and mental preparation could be tremendously beneficial for the student professional development. On the other hand, the advantages of studying abroad contribute not only to professional development but also to a personal sense of fulfilment. Firstly, obtaining a degree from a well-known international university automatically leads to a broad range of job opportunities with a higher salary. That is to say, in the long run, this experience will certainly change the student's life because it provides the person with an exclusive feature in his curriculum vitae. For example, recent research showed that obtaining a position in an international company such as Samsung highly depends on the university the person comes from. Secondly, the whole experience represents a change of mindset and opening to the world. Therefore, the immersion in a different culture and in a new language provides the student with new interpersonal skills which are deeply rooted in the individual's happiness and motivation. To sum up, though I believe there are some aspects to consider in the downside of studying in a foreign university, I think the results in the person's career and personal growth outweigh them significantly.