Many people believe that a person’s culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that it has only minor influence. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many people claim that someone's cultural traits are determined mainly by the nation he comes from, while other people believe that the country of origin plays a minor role. I am going to discuss the arguments of both sides and express my opinion on the matter. Firstly, it is indeed true that the country we come from influences our cultural traits since it already plays a big part in how we identify our selves. Additionally, our origins are also most of the time the same as the people who raised us, and since they are our first influence, we tend to copy their behaviour. For instance, the child of an Indian immigrant family in Europe will most likely follow Hinduistic worship ways rather than Christian. On the other side of the spectrum, people claim that other more major influences than our origins on how our characters develop, like the place and the society we grew up in. Indeed, not only our way of life depends on the place we live in, but every community has different standards from one another. For example, many middle eastern Muslim women living in Europe nowadays have stopped covering their hair. Their religion might say so; however, European standards tend to consider it anachronistic. The need to conform to the social norms are often greater than that of origins. In conclusion, both sides are somewhat true as our cultural identity is extremely crucial and influential on how our character develops. However, so does the society and the location we have grown up and lived in.