Some people believe that secondary school children should study international news as a subject. Others say that this is wasting time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this modern day and age, the world is constantly changing and updating. As such, some believe that students between the ages of 11 to 18 should be made to study global news. Not everyone is on the same page, however; opponents say this is merely wasting their children's time. This essay shall explore both sides of the argument and stand for the former. On one hand, it is undeniably important to know what is going on in the world, even for students. By studying international events, they learn about the outside world's developments and problems alike. This not only enriches their knowledge, but also builds a sense of empathy and care by providing pupils with an extra point of view. Let's take the current Israel and Gaza conflict as an example. Amidst all the bloodshed, students would be exposed to both sides' points of view and realize that civilians are the ones who suffer the most. On the other hand, normal academic subjects are also vital to children's development. Math, Literature, Science, etc... such subjects serve as foundational knowledge which pupils could build upon when pursuing higher education or actual jobs. Due to this, a lot of students ' hands are already full. Thus, their parents want them to put their undivided attention on their academics instead of studying extra things like international news. As seen by the evidence stated above, both sides have many valid points for contention. Students still need to learn about the outside world, but it is also important to keep their well-being in check. Therefore, I propose that international news be made into an extracurricular subject with a flexible schedule. This means students could easily fit the subject into their timetables, eliminating the previously stated concern. Overall, international news is undoubtedly one of the things secondary school students need to learn. Yet, some people want their children to fully focus on school subjects instead of wasting time on what they think are "extra things". To this end, principals and teachers shall take into their own hands the matter of implementing such subject into the curriculum without adding too much burden to pupils.