task 2: Some people think news has no connection to people’s life. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television program. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that news does not connect to human life, and spending time reading the newspaper as well as watching television news programs is wasteful. While acknowledging the reasons behind this sentiment, I would contend that news has a particular connection to lives and time expended on newspaper and TV news is valuable. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that there is no connection between their lives and the news besides the lawlessness of reading the news and watching the news on TV. The key rationale could be that reported news recently has been filled with untruthfulness and trivial stories, which can be attributed to the advancements in technology allowing anyone to report news and to update these on social platforms without stringent censoring. For instance, there are huge amount of news about influencers’ lives and gossip about the events happening with them on Facebook or Instagram, while these stories do not benefit any aspects of people’s lives regardless of entertainment means. As a result, many find watching these news on TV programs or reading newspapers ineffective. On the other hand, I am convinced that news has a tight connection to society, and watching and reading news are advantageous. The first reason could be that government-monitored or renowned newspaper channels have the responsibility for validly updating and reflecting controversial topics about important facets of life such as national economics, criminal rates and moral issues. This means to give people not only the awareness of what is happening around them but also forecast the future based on current events for the most optimal decisions. In addition, watching television news programs illustrates to viewers reliable documents for what the news has been reported, helping them to recognize the actions they should take. For example, thanks to the widespread of historic documents on television and the contribution of journalists in publishing information about the 1945’s hunger in the north of Vietnam, many ethnic and citizens throughout the country aided hungry people with money and rice to overcome the situation. Up to these days, the film about the previous century’s hunger has been shown several times for generations of students as a teaching method to convey the harshness of war. In conclusion, while there are justifications for the belief that news does not have any relation to people’s life, and that reading and watching the news are time-wasting, I firmly believe that news has brought much value to human beings, and time spent on reading the news and watching television news programs is worthful.