In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last decades, the usage of computers and the Internet in order to have access to the news and written content has been menacing printed media as it became easier to find them for free. Although there is a prediction of ending the buying of books and newspapers, I tend to disagree with this statement. First of all, communication vehicles are already finding ways to profit from digital versions because their quality and accuracy need to be affordable as well and they still use the scheme of selling space for the advertisement to other companies. For instance, even with technology and the possibility to avoid printing, their very existence relies on earnings from ads and subscription to have access to specific contents, in order to pay journalists and technical maintenance. Secondly, albeit the rise of ebooks, libraries and bookstores are still existing, although in small quantities. This happens because some books still have their value attached to their physicality, as an object that a community still invest in ownership. For example, their presence in a shop might work strategically to maintain shoppers for longer periods in the vicinity, encouraging more shopping. Considering that, it continues to be profitable to sell printed content. Lastly, to assume that all people will be able to read online deceive the reality that a number of readers do not have access to the Internet. Physical books and newspapers are more accessible and inclusive than electronic readers because they do not depend on owning a certain device, be it a smartphone or a computer for instance, and it is possible to lend to someone incapable of paying for them. To sum up, although the development and enhancement of new technology might impact deeply how we read and consume information, in an unequal world as we live in, it is unlikely that this reality will change any soon and people are still going to pay for printed media.