Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn teamwork. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sport is an athletic activity that requires skills in which an individual or team has to compete against each other. While certain people believe that sports educate children to become competitive, others think that teamwork is what children learnt from involving in sports. This essay will discuss both views and state my opinion. It is obvious that children learn how to compete through sports, as it is the way we play games. Everyone will do their best to win in order to prove their ability and self-worth. Especially in high school, winning in a sports competition will lead to personal pride and reputation of the school. This can explain why sports, such as basketball and football, are crucial for high school students in many countries. On the other hand, playing as a team creates teamwork skills. Cooperation leads to more chances to win as children learn to collaborate effectively to achieve their goals. For instance, in a sport like baseball, planning for a game ahead is significant. Once everyone knows their roles and performs their best, the team is more likely to achieve a victory. In my opinion, sports not only teach children to become competitive but also help them develop their teamwork skills. Moreover, sports teach children to compete fairly and support each other. Therefore, it is essential for parents, schools, government and society as a whole to encourage children to participate in sports, as these activities offer valuable life skills that can benefit them in various aspects of their lives.