Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The issue of whether advertisements help or make us buy things we do not need is a matter of concern for many. Critics argue that ads inform the public about new products which can be essential to daily living, however others and I believe adverts encourage buyers to shop for unwanted products. This essay will discuss the latter view by using examples from Dail Mail UK magazine and TV advert, starring Rihanna. Firstly, according to a recent survey done by Dail Mail UK magazine, many people buy unnecessary items upon seeing the same ads again. Many marketing companies use repeat advertisement strategy to target people into buying unwanted purchase. The survey also found that one- third of individuals using web platforms such as Facebook, bought more products than any other ads. Based on these results, it can be said that if a company advertises their item frequently, especially on social media, it can result in more people buying their product. Therefore, undoubtedly it can be said that adverts do lure people into buying their merchandise. In addition to the repetition of ads, another reason why ads make us buy things we do not need is by making us desire stuff that we see on others. Many advertisers hire celebrities to use their product and talk about how it has improved things for them, resulting in many individuals desiring the same effect and hence, purchasing the same product. This strategy is effective as I bought an item the same way, I kept seeing TV advert, starring Rihanna, claiming a new face mask which rejuvenates skin in a month. The ad talked about how the new face mask is used by such a popular person and is affordable to any common person. To conclude from the aforementioned examples, I firmly believe ads motivate people to buy their unnecessary merchandise by using consistent ads and popular people.