Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often said that authorities should invest money in railways rather than roads. I strongly agree with this statement because travelling by train saves lots of time. Also, it is much safer than taking a car ride. Trains are one of the fastest transportation vehicles. Because they are not affected by traffic, air conditions and crashes that happen on roadways. Moreover, some trains can go up to 700 kilometres per hour. Therefore, it became one of the best choices for travelling. Also, so many people are using them to be somewhere much faster. For example, in Japan, many people are using trains to get to another city in 1 hour to arrive at their work which would take a 4-hour car drive. And they are the safest way of travelling. Because they are not affected by the weather. Trains could work even when the temperature is -20 Celsius. And there is a low chance of train crashes because each train has its own railway to move on. Consequently, there is a low number of deaths that happen in a railway crash. For instance, a huge part of Russia is covered by ice and many people prefer to travel by train because they know that it is not safe to drive on an icy road because of this they trust trains. In conclusion, trains could be considered one of the safest and fastest ways of travelling. I believe that authorities should spend money on railways rather than roadways for their citizen’s safety.