Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Treating diseases should be one of the governments’ top priority. However, health education and illnesses prevention should also be prioritized. This essay will discuss several reasons why governments need to spend more money on health education and illness prevention. First of all, spending money only on treating a certain disease will not lower the number of the disease occurrence. Obviously, people will keep getting sick if they do not know the causes of the disease. This is because they do not have any idea what they should or should not do to avoid it. As a consequence, the disease rate would remain constant. To give an example, diabetes at a young age is still a major issue because there is no education about it in schools. As a result, teenagers do not know what kind of foods can increase their chance to have diabetes. In addition, when people are aware of the causes of the most common illnesses, they can be more selective on their lifestyle and diet. Certainly, they will be more careful about what they consume and do in order not to catch anything that can make them sick. On top of that, knowledge of the symptoms can lead to faster disease detection and the effect can be less fatal. For instance, at the beginning of 2019, there are many people that diagnosed with coronavirus disease. However, as the government actively spread knowledge on COVID-19 and how to prevent them, the number of coronavirus infection gradually went down. In conclusion, I completely agree that governments should allow some budget to educate people about disease prevention. This is because treating those illnesses alone cannot decrease the level of occurrence and because awareness of the causes and symptoms of diseases can help people have a better lifestyle.