Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

ln some parts of the world, native languages are being lost as the world develops and evolves. Some believe that this is unimportant and even see it as an advantage. This essay will discuss whether the loss of languages should be cause for concern. Certain aspects of everyday life are made easier through sharing a common language. First and foremost, business transactions are much simpler when the two parties concerned can understand each other well. Travel problems can also be dealt with much faster when there is mutual understanding Thanks to globalization, these types of communication are increasing and could be seen as largely responsible for the disappearance of languages in more remote areas. If people in those areas want to do business with others, to avoid frustrations, they must adopt the more widely used languages of the world. Thus, with each new generation, their native tongue becomes both less useful and less used. Thus, sadly, the need to make life simpler makes the loss of some languages inevitable. Nevertheless, language has a multitude of uses that go far beyond tourism and business communication. Firstly, our native tongue is used to express our deepest feelings and emotions. These are much more difficult to convey when using a second language. Language also plays an important part in our culture and identity, uniting us as a community, Thus, when a language is lost, part of the community and culture also disappears. This must be an enormous loss for the people concerned. Clearly, some people are affected far more than others by the disappearance of a language. ln conclusion, while it is true that having fewer languages benefits the world of business, and makes transactions easier, I completely disagree with the view that the continued loss of languages is unimportant. The variety of native languages is what makes the world a richer place, and any loss of this kind should not be dismissed lightly.