Some people think children should attend extra classes after school, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

We live in an age where the knowledge base is increasing at an incredible rate. It is already struggling to catch up with recent technologies and innovations. Hence, some people are convinced that children's participation in additional classes can enhance their level of knowledge. However, I fully disagree with this conviction for the reason that pupils will be overloaded by extra lessons and that their brain should benefit from other activities as well. The sole reason why people find it appealing to encourage their children to attend additional lessons is their desire to increase their child's knowledge. Parents often want their young to stand out in a class and perform better than other students. Furthermore, they wish their child to occupy a prestigious career as they grow. Parents are often concerned about providing their youth with a bright future and giving them extra lessons, they think, is a way to achieve this. On contrary to this, the effect of extra classes on a student's brain activity cannot be neglected. First, intense learning in the early ages of human life can stimulate increased levels of stress, which can later evolve into depression. Some parents tend to dedicate the majority of their child's time to their studies, as a result, they often end up obtaining high levels of anxiety, or mental pressure. Second, the brain must also benefit from other activities than education, such as games or sport. Physical activities, such as football, basketball are proved to develop the social skills of children and to build up confidence, which plays an important role in life. To conclude, I believe children need to participate in other activities along with learning since it will help them to gain social skills and increase their confidence, hence, it is important to attend sports and play games in their free time.