Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is often held that the motherland has a significant influence on the behaviour and customs of a person. While some people argue that this factor is predominant in shaping someone's culture, others believe that the country has very little impact on it. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the former. On the one hand, the customs of the nation where a person is born from his belief system. In other words, individuals tend to copy different habits and behaviours of the other individuals that surround them. Moreover, some cultural conditions are imposed from the very beginning of life and rather difficult to change. For example, it is proven that language greatly influences someone's personality and culture and each country has its own language or at least a dialect. Consequently, directly differentiate one from the others. Finally, other aspects such as traditional music, food and religion are deeply rooted in people's traditions. On the other hand, some people become completely separate and independent from their nation's way of life that its influence might be insignificant. Firstly, because nowadays it is relatively easy to move from one country to another, many young people migrate in search of better job opportunities or study and this may lead to a loss of the national identity. Moreover, with the rise in the usage of social media, many cultural aspects and traditions are becoming extinct and new groups with a so-called modern mindset are arising. For instance, in the '90s a great number of Indians migrated to England, although this country has a quite different culture, a lot of young ones felt identified with the English one and decided to adopt some aspects from it. Therefore, other decisions made by individuals might outweigh their own cultural heritage. In my opinion, the whole culture of a country holds more substantial sway over society than their own decisions, because their heritage is inherently given by the birth moment. Moreover, the vast majority of family and friends are from the same land, which makes it even harder not to have an enormous influence over their minds. In conclusion, though some people think that the country where a person is born has little effects on his lifestyle, I believe it is the opposite, as family, friends, language, among others, lay a strong foundation from a very young age.