Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Countries all over the world are faced with the problem of overpopulation in city areas. There are several causes and solutions, which I will discuss in this essay. One major cause of overpopulation is the better employment opportunities that cities offer. Many businesses have their offices in urban centres, because of better transportation and networking opportunities. Consequently, a number of people living in rural areas have left their hometown in order to land high-paying jobs. Another factor contributing to overpopulation is the higher living standard that comes with urban life. For example, compared to regional areas, people in city centres receive the benefits of better infrastructures, wide varieties of food and better medical and educational support. This can be the motivation to relocate to a city for those in the countryside who wish to improve their quality of life. With regard to the solutions to this issue, one is for the governments to create more jobs outside of the city. As limited employment is one of the major causes of overpopulation, simply increasing the number of jobs in the countryside would prevent people from moving to urban centres. For instance, encouraging and supporting tourism in the local communities can attract more workers. In addition, improving public transportation systems in rural areas is also a way to tackle overpopulation. This makes the towns more accessible and easier to get around, and therefore locals will be more satisfied with life there. In conclusion, overpopulation is caused mainly by better chances to secure jobs and higher standards of living, and the possible solutions include investment in local industries as well as public transit. It is advisable that the government ensures all citizens can live with contentment anywhere they choose to live.