In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In certain ways of life, a message is passed onto young ones that if they toil hard, they will lead a successful life. This trend has got its own benefits such as inculcating values since a very tender age, as well as drawbacks like leading a highly competitive and stressful life. There are two important merits of persuading kids to work tirelessly early on. Firstly, the next generation learns to value time and understand that it is great to be punctual. To be precise, there is an increased orientation to timely completion of projects because they get rewarded with excellent grades in their schools due to better preparedness. Secondly, they learn certain virtues such as discipline, dedication and devotion which helps them to achieve distinction. For example, my cousin who excelled in his career owes it to the strong foundation laid down in his early school years. However, there are two demerits of motivating teenagers to work strenuously. To begin with, there is a cut throat competition in the school which has its effect on the mental peace of their students. To explain, they are always under stress, not only outperform their colleagues but also to be the best amongst all. In addition, this has led to a plethora of health issues in the young generation. To cite an instance, my friends developed early onset diabetes and refractory errors due to the constant screen exposure and ignorance towards their health. To conclude, after having a glance at the above explanation, there are distinct pros of working hard namely enhanced precision and speed of completing various tasks but there are also cons like it comes at the cost of one’s health. It is recommended that the youth should be shaped in such a way that they should excel in life but should also focus on themselves.