The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

For the past few years a tremendous increase in the population has been observed. Some believe that population expansion is the prime concern of the mankind. I agree with it completely. In the following paragraphs, I will put forth my views in detail. To commence with, principal reason for the increased birth rate is lack of sex education. To elaborate, people do not have proper knowledge about safe period to avoid unwanted pregnancy along with the drawbacks of frequent child bearing. Thus number of children would be increased in each family. In addition, certain religions command people to increase their number since it is the obligation of man to god. To explain, according to such doctrines, the creator would punish his disciples for not having enough offsprings. For example, Christian and Islam faith inculcate such beliefs in their followers. Therefore growth in number of people due to above reasons could have a negative impact on the mankind. To elaborate, firstly, with uncontrolled population expansion, resources to satisfy the needs of emerging population is inadequate. Consequently results in unhealthy competition between individuals for proper food, accomodation and sanitation. Secondly excess number of people could end up on aggressive environmental pollution which could aggrevate the current situation. For instance, according to the UN, primary reason behind the pollution is the population size. Thus it could be reiterated the deleterious effects of population density on mankind. To conclude, in my opinion, population expansion have detrimental effects on humanity. This is due to unhealthy competition as well as encroachment on biodiversity.