Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who could only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The effect of letting children make their own decisions is under debate. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that enabling kids to take their own call could lead to adults who will be self-centred while some critics oppose the idea as they feel it is of paramount importance to allow the students to decide about their personal issues. However, in my perspective, I strongly believe that the young ones should be allowed to take a few calls. On the one hand, others are of the opinion that these decision-making children might go on to become selfish individuals for two reasons. Firstly, they develop a habit of taking decisions that suits them the most. For example, my cousin who independently decides about himself since his childhood sees to it that he does not have to compromise anywhere. Secondly, any difference of opinion could result in ego issues in such people. To be precise, they are very determined about what they want and expect others to follow them. On the other hand, others and I feel that they should be given a chance to decide for themselves for two major causes. To begin, it helps them to become independent at an early age and also guide others. To illustrate, my nephew independently takes a call about the completion of his projects in the school as well as helps his classmates. Moreover, such kids develop self-control which helps them to be organized in the future. To be clear, studies have depicted that these youngsters are very methodical and achieve perfection in their work. To conclude, after having a glance at the above explanation, I opine that entrusting the next generation to make their own decisions will benefit them in many ways. It is recommended that elders should be a guiding force and not an obstacle in their path.