Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, environmental problems have consistently been a topic of interest among the masses. Some individuals champion the notion that the primary environmental problem is the phenomenon of losing extinct species of plants and animals, while a significant number of others posit that there are other issues that need to be considered as a priority. Although I do acknowledge that both sides have their merits, I am inclined to endorse that the major problem is that people always make self-absorption the highest priority. On the one hand, it is clear that the world is composed of diverse animal and plant species. If there was any missing of particular species, the ecosystem would meet a catastrophe. For example, many farmers are facing the loss of bees on their farms. Bees help plants in the process of pollination and thus are necessary to most flowers and fruit-producing trees. Some scientists pointed out that, without bees, the whole agriculture industry would be forced to stop and humanity would be dead within a year or less because of starvation. It is therefore reasonable that every single species is important to the balanced ecosystem and the populace. On the other hand, the aforementioned perspective overlooks the serious problem of global warming which is caused by overconsuming fossil fuels and more developing countries are becoming industrialized. Global warming leads to numerous problems such as wildfires and storms and becoming more frequent and dangerous. Such instances challenge the initial assertion and suggest that there are other environmental problems that need to be solved as a priority. In my opinion, I lean more towards that the core reason why societies are facing numerous environmental problems is that people only care about themselves. No matter how serious the rising temperature and sea levels destroy our lives, people still continuously produce carbon dioxide. The more convenient people's lives are, the more serious global warming is and the speed at animals disappearing. I believe this insight underscores the complexity of the issue that the main problem is the selfishness of people's minds. In conclusion, reflecting upon the two perspectives it is evidence that both sides are reasonable. While the phenomenon that many species are facing extinguishing nowadays is a dangerous issue, it is also crucial to acknowledge that the world has thousands of other environmental problems that also need to be aware of. Given these considerations, my allegiance that the main problem is people's minds is steadfastly consolidated and remains incontrovertibly firm.