In recent years, many small local shops have closed because consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Due to the constructions of huge shopping,malls people tend to shop from these centres instead of choosing tiny groceries and many small scale businesses are badly affected. In my,opinion this is positive progress. Initially, this essay will discuss more employment opportunities in these centres and then the availability of international brands. To begin with, the foremost positive impact of the big shopping centres is that number of jobless people hired by these stores. People can get jobs there in various categories such as security, cleaners and customers care. As a result, it helps to reduce unemployment from the globe. For instance, a survey conducted recently by BBC News has revealed that 27% of the world illiterate workless population are working in vast shopping stores and earning income to survive in the world. Therefore, unemployment has been reducing gradually by various large shopping malls. Besides, the second positive improvement of large shopping facility is that our society became more consumerist. Customers are able to obtain their favourite brands from these stores which are not possible to get through small shops. Consequently, they can consume those things which are only consumed by foreigners. For example, several malls have branded clothing stores namely Nike, Addidas or Gucci and the young generation prefer to wear these types of clothes due to easy accessibility through big shopping centres. Hence, these shopping complexes are satisfying the consumers' needs which is the essential motto of this progress. To conclude, this essay supports the idea that there are more positive elements than negative in the terms of getting jobs and fulfilling consumers requirement with imported items and these both things are difficult to provide by small shops. Thus, I consider this to be a positive improvement overall.