Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more excercise and spend more time with their family and friends whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems.What are the causes o this and what are some solutions

It is believed that older individuals used to have a healthier lifestyle in the past while now many experience issues regarding their health and social life. This trend is caused by the rapid development of mobile phones and it could be solved by inventing activities for senior citizens. The advancement of technology has resulted in fewer visits from friends and family. In the past, when mobile phones were not invented people had no other choice but to visit their older relatives in person. They would often schedule trips to see their parents and friends since that was the easiest and fastest way to communicate with the elderly. Because of that, the seniors had something to look forward to. Nowadays, technology provides an option to use video calls to communicate. People see this as an easy way of contacting their family so they don't visit the elderly relatives often. Recent research concluded that face time is mostly used by citizens who are over 60 years old. The government should organise more public events for elderly people. Many of them lack happiness because they rarely have a chance to socialize. By creating book clubs and sporting events that target senior citizens, the government could improve the quality of their life dramatically. For instance, an article about human psychology stated that everyone needs a social life no matter their age, gender or financial status. In conclusion, the quality of life for elderly people is decreasing and it is due to the usage of video calls as the main way of communication. These individual's lives could be improved by creating various events and gatherings focused on their needs.