Some people think that spending large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities is a waste of money. They think that this money should be used to improve existing public transport. To what extent do you agree / disagree ?

Opinions differ regarding whether governments should spend money on building high-speed intercity rail networks, with some arguing that they ought to spend money on improving existing public transportation. Even though I agree that it is important to focus on public transport, I do not think spending on the rail lines is a waste of money. There are several reasons for spending a significant portion of the government budget on existing public vehicles. First and foremost, if public transportation was improved, the traffic congestion would reduce significantly. This is because there would be a fewer number of cars in the street as most of the car owners would use public buses to commute. Besides, the condition of most public vehicles is poor, and they are producing huge CO2 gas. With public buses' improvement and repairment, the emission CO2 will minimize. However, this does not mean that working on the intercity railway should be completely neglected. This is because the availability of high-speed trains means that people will leave cities and stay with their families villages. This would mean that there will be less crowd in the street as most citizens will leave the city after office hours. Furthermore, high-speed trains will save a lot of time that jobholders can spend with their families since they will be able to reach home earlier. Therefore, governments should distribute a portion of their money on this type of transport. In conclusion, there are clear benefits to spending money on public transport as it can reduce traffic and the number of cars on the road. That said, not only do high-speed trains ensure that people will start living in villages, but they can also save a lot of valuable time for citizens.