Many students find it difficult to pay attention at school. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem

Attention is an ability that is crucial for students to focus on their studies. Mainly lack of motivation and interest toward the class are the two reasons why attention deficit happens. However, this problem could be effectively managed by changing teaching methods to a greater extent. To begin with, it has been noticed that learners may not be sufficiently motivated to learn the particular subjects. Mostly, they just attend the class because it was included in the curriculum. Similarly, pupils often find the subject is boring since they could not understand why they are taught this topic. For example, while teaching a foreign language, English, the significance, its global status, and mastering the language may offer better career prospectus, all these details to be explained before the beginning the lecture. Otherwise, gradually and slowly, students tend to become inattentive in their classroom and hardly gain any knowledge from the section. Nevertheless, this scenario would be tackled by adopting a new style of pedagogical methods. Firstly, teachers could incorporate the topic into their day to day life. This may create curiosity in the learners’ mind. After which, audio-visual aids could be added to inculcate interest and keep the onlooker focussed throughout the class. Similarly, instead of having a monotonous lecture, scholars must be encouraged to ask questions and clarify their doubts. The education must be a two way communication between teachers and pupil and this may improve the span of attention remarkably. In conclusion, attention deficit is a common problem that can be seen among students. Lack of interest and motivation are the culprits of this problem. By changing the olden education style may control the hurdle effectively.