The movements of people from the villages to the cities for work has caused a lot of problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

People are moving from villages to cities in search of employment and this has resulted in a number of issues in both places. Overpopulation in the cities and underdevelopment in the villages are some of the main challenges associated with rural-urban migration and there are also some ways that can be taken to tackle them, as will be highlighted on below. To commence with, one of the serious problems of village to city movement is how densely populated the cities have become. In other words, a lot of people after attaining their qualifications move from the village to become city dwellers since they are believed to be greener pastures where one finds all the anemities and services. For instance, the capital city of Zimbabwe has become a primate city as half of the population is living there. As a result, the city becomes overpopulated which may cause further concerns, such as exorbitant rentals, pollution and even traffic jams. In addition, the villages are becoming underdevoleped as there will be no action because the majority of people prefer to be in the city. Nevertheless, there are some ways that can be used to tackle these problems and behavioural change is one of them. Changing the mindset of people who believe that everything is found in the cities is the way to go. This can be done, firstly by decentralisation where various anemities and services are brought to the villages so that people will be attracted to stay there. For example, the government of Zimbabwe managed to construct some needed services in the villages which curbed people from mass movement to urban areas. Secondly, individuals need to have knowledge about the advantages of living in villages, including lesser population,clean environment, cheaper or no rentals which worthy to live for. In conclusion, construction of attractive services in the village can deter rural-urban migration that is causing a number of serious challenges.