In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Having a gap year after finishing school and before entering university is encouraged in some countries. Teenagers can highlight their goals and receive new experience in different spheres of their lives, which are beneficial for them, but there are also some drawbacks of this. On the one hand, this year might bring some advantages for young people. First, they will not be under pressure and will have enough time to realise their purpose in life. In other words, youngsters, who do not know what profession they want to choose, might learn some additional information about the spheres in which they are interested and only then opt for what university to enter. Second, a gap year is an excellent opportunity to feel the freedom and to live like the adults. For instance, young people might work, rent a flat and pay bills by themselves or travel without parents which will give them a chance to become more mature. On the other hand, having a break before starting a university may bring some disadvantages. One of the hurdles they may be faced with is losing the knowledge they received at school. It is well known that people need to train their mind constantly in order to develop and save everything they knew once and without proper learning after some period they just need to start everything again. Another negative aspect is that they will lose time which might be spent productively to reach a desirable career. For example, in many companies the employees' age is one of the main conditions in order to receive a higher position. In conclusion, while youngsters can benefit from understanding their wantings, it can also lead to losing knowledge and time.