Too much money is wasted on repairing old buildings that should be used to knock them down and build new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an opinion that instead of spending a lot of money on repairing old buildings we can destroy them and construct new objects. I absolutely disagree with this statement, because some old buildings have a cultural value also they may be a landmark of places. The first reason why I do not support this suggestion is losing of history and culture. Some old objects may have cultural and historical importance for people. To give a clear example, if we do not care about old constructions, such as The Red Square or Big Ben the next generation cannot totally know the cultural heritage of past generations. Thus it is important to invest money in the safety of old buildings. In,addition old constructions are one of the most important factors of tourism. A huge number of tourist travel in some countries because of seeing old constructions. For instance, most people visit Turkestan because there is a mavzolee of A. Yassaui. In, fact the government of Kazakhstan spend millions of tenge per year to save this construction. In conclusion, a big number of money is wasted on re-establishing of old buildings although we nay build on this money new and modern constructions. I do not support this idea, because it can lead to other problems. For example, we can lose our connection to the past as well as destroying the old buildings could decrease the income of tourism.