Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

Nowadays, many people are opting to start a business of their own instead of being employed in a firm. There are many factors contributing to this mindset which will be highlighted in the essay along with the disadvantages of being self employed. As more and more countries are encouraging entrepreneurs, various decisions have been taken to ease the process of starting a new business. For instance, the availability of funds to a good idea or business plan is abundant, be it bank loans, venture capitalists. Morevoer, the procedures for setting up a new industry have been made a lot easier and transparent. This encouragement from several governments and investors is boosting young minds to implement a great business plan and start a new venture. In addition there are many existing employees who are tired of doing a monotonous job for years and want to pursue their passion which is motivating them to explore new business oppurtunities. For instance, people who have a hobby or passion for music or dance can now think of pursuing it as a business model as there are various profit making opputinities in almost every field. However, there are several disadvantages related to opening a new venture. For example, a job can gaurantee a fixed salary while generating income out of a fresh business can take a few years, sometimes even more. Morevoer, the work life balance a job can provide cannot be dreamt of in a new business. Sometimes if the idea or plan doesnt workout, it can create a huge financial or emotional instability which can be too tough to cope up with. In conclusion, although, due to certain measures taken for ease of doing business, people prefer to start up their own company, yet, several risks or problems have to be accounted for before opening up a new enterprise.