Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

At present, the interaction between many people has been altered by modern technology. Although technologies offer new opportunities and make a lot of lives easier, it seems that they negatively affect most of the relationships as people are becoming more closed and isolated due to over-reliance on modern means of communication. A vast number of spheres is affected by advances in technologies. Firstly, with the help of social networks such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc., people seek their partners on the Internet. They definitely make the process of finding easier but, at the same time, create a lot of opportunities to mislead others forcing users to be more cautious and attentive to the shown information. Secondly, due to the fact that a lot of information is not properly regulated people are becoming more sceptical. This leads to decreasing levels of trust between people in many societies. For instance, recent sociological studies revealed that about 2 decades ago people were more open to a simple conversation with a stranger than nowadays. Despite the benefits of modern devices, they have a detrimental effect on people's social life. Some adults and youngsters tend to lose their soft skills because of long screen hours. In other words, they start to forget the rules and principles of interacting with others. Being social creatures that spent millions of years in groups and communities, losing such an important skill may cause some mental issues in the future. For example, several psychological studies concluded that the lion share of the individuals living alone are likely to be more depressed and have mental problems. In conclusion, while technologies improved many aspects of people's lives, they brought some serious issues such as social isolation. I would recommend limiting the screen time and spending more hours with relatives and friends.