Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

one of the state-of-the-art technological developments in the 21st century is the emergent of social media. Others argue that this innovation has brought a large-scale of negative effects to people as well as to the community. Although, I agree to the statement, i could not also deny the fact that this digital media has tremendous advantages too. The social networking page has become an open-source of bullying. In the past few years, there have been many cases of cyberbullying that have affected the mental health of the individuals. To exemplify, many teenagers have experienced to be named and shamed in their own accounts. As a result, they feel a profound sadness and the feeling that they have been gaslighted which lead them to question their worth. Moreover, facebook and twitter have served as an open ground to air the sentiments of the society. For example, private issues of married couple is being known by many in just a single post, it becomes the subject of discussion of netizens who are not even part of it. Hence, leading to a more chaotic situation. Although, there are disadvantages, its contribution to the individuals is highly regarded. Firstly, this provides entertainment and relieves stress especially during this pandemic. For instance, funny videos and news can make someone laugh and temporarily forgets the current situation. Thus, decreasing the chance to suffer from depression. Secondly, one of the greatest advantages of this technological improvement is that it connects people from one place to another virtually. In today's situation in where pandemic is still on the rise, there is a vast number of people who were not able to go home due to the strict regulations. However, families were able to attend birthday parties, wedding anniversaries and even funerals with the aid of live video recording. In conclusion, social networking sites have positive and negative effects. I agree that it undoubtedly brought undesirable impacts to both individuals and the society. Nonetheless, the positive side also helped us to cope up with today's situation.