Write about the following topic: Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Computers and mobile devices are becoming accessible to more individuals and organisations in our society. Writing by hand has been replaced by typing on keyboards to fill out forms, create bills and write articles. Hence, there is an argument whether it is still relevant to teach our youth the art of writing by hand. To my mind, I disagree that we should abandon teaching this skill as it has lots of advantages in life which this essay discusses. To begin with, physically writing does not require any costly equipment and can be done anywhere. This makes it preferable for taking notes or writing down info when one doesn't have access to an electronic device. Additionally, using a pencil to jot down information in class or when preparing for a test can help students to remember the information for a longer amount of time. Another use of knowing how to use a pencil is the fact that it can be used to help someone with a disability. For instance, a fast-food worker can understand and query a person who cannot speak much more efficiently using pen and paper as it would be troubling to pass a phone around to type. Furthermore, most keyboards are designed for the English language which makes them not usable for local languages. For example, I still can only write proper Hindi vocabulary and punctuation in writing as the mobile devices still do not support all of the Hindi dictionaries. To conclude, relying just on technology to type text can be limiting as it requires the purchase of a computer and a keyboard whereas handwriting only requires a pen and paper. Manually writing is also beneficial when it comes to memorising info and communicating in scenarios that involve using words that are not in English.