Despite a variety of sport facilities and gyms, people are less fit nowadays than ever before. What do you think are the main causes of this problem? What solutions can you suggest?

Compared to previous decades, the number of gyms and sports facilities has increased dramatically. Surprisingly, however, the lifestyle of people and their physical health do not correlate with this improvement and have even worsened over the years. I will try to explain the roots of this problem and offer some solutions in that regard. With all the advances in technological areas, all societies have been more or less industrialized and urbanized in the last decades. As a result, most physical jobs are being done by machines and tools, not demanding any physical effort. This means that compared to older times, people are less mobile and are stuck in sedentary lifestyles, which leads to a reduction of life quality. Furthermore, the world economy is going through recurring crises, which contribute to the loss of jobs and a rise in poverty. Hence, more people are slaving themselves in return for the minimum wage, only to meet their basic needs. With working long hours and still having difficulty providing proper housing and sufficient food, going to the gym would be considered a luxury out of reach. Therefore, people are less fit and healthy in contrast with older times. There is no straightforward answer to how we can overcome this problem. In addition to structural modifications to uproot poverty and bettering the quality of people's lives, one of the effective solutions can be fitting some exercise hours in employees' schedules during working hours. Desk stretches and mobility exercises can help blood circulation and prevent heart conditions resulting from sitting for long hours. On the other hand, building gyms inside the offices would solve the problem of commuting to the gym from the office. This way, employees would have better access to the gym and work out. In conclusion, finding the roots of people not being healthy and in shape, these days is quite complex and needs scientific assessment, and fixing them needs structural alterations by the government to have a more healthy society