Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the news has no direct impact on their lives and can live without knowing about recent changes. Although it is true that it may be a waste of time to read newspapers or sit and watch TV news programmes, it is important that people stay updated on recent news and there are other ways such as news apps and social media that are much quicker. There may be important healthcare and political developments that may have a crucial importance on the life of a normal person so it is essential that everyone stay up-to-date with the news. I therefore completely disagree with the viewpoint that the news has no connection with people's lives. It is essential to be updated on recent healthcare news. A great example is the recent COVID-19 pandemic breakdown, if there were to be another pandemic, it is vital that everyone is aware and prepared. In the case that no one reads the news, people will not be able to follow government guidelines which can make the situation a lot worse, consequently leading to the death of many more than expected. People need to read the news to stay informed about the dates of elections and to be aware of election campaigns as this has a direct impact on their lives. For example, it is the responsibility of every eligible citizen to vote in elections as a single vote can change the leading party and have an impact on almost all aspects of life including education, travel, work and pension, healthcare, wages and business tax. To conclude, even though reading the newspaper can be time-consuming, it is important that people are informed of the latest news such as politics and healthcare as it has a direct connection to their everyday lives.